George Couros brother of Alec Couros, principal extraordinaire, and a Cracker Jack Box

April 16, 2010

It has been itching me since I heard it. Children and Cracker Jack Boxes; I have been saying this for three years now. Well, replace the Cracker Jack Box with a box of cereal with the prize at the bottom, and you’ve got my first acceptance essay into this faculty. Unfortunately, it was not this essay that got me into the program but it was a terrific essay all the same.
I believe in this idea. I want to be that teacher. I want to be the teacher in high school that not necessarily is the cool teacher but the teacher students may come to if they need something. Like Alec with technology except different. I’m not quite sure how slippery this slope is as I am only a second year student, but I do know that i want to be there to help these kids. I had a math teacher (believe it or not) who had this thing called an ‘open door policy’. He intended it for math problems at the lunch hour but the reality was his room was like a doctors office. You always had a sense of security when you left even if your problem was math related.
When I left my high school in grade 12, I applied to be a pharmacist even though i was advised differently. I wanted to be my math teacher. I wanted to affect students the way Mr. Lerm did!
4 long years later I got my chance. My acceptance into the Ed program at the U of R will not be wasted.
Now pass me that Family Pack of Bran Flakes, I hear there is a prize inside.

Leave a comment